Taking attendance

Registrations and attendance

You can manage registrations (signups) and take attendance for any of your classes, wherever they take place. You don't need to be in charge of reservations and payment (like in case you are employed in a gym, studio, or school). The basic rule is that before class starts, you deal with registrations. Once class starts (and afterwards), you deal with attendance.

Registrations (blue ticks)

When your students go to your public Ubindi schedule and register for a class, they get added to a class registration list that only you, the teacher can see. On your schedule dashboard, clicking on the little ticket icon at the bottom right of any of your upcoming classes will show you who registered in advance: 




The registration list for any of your classes will look like this. Students who have signed up have a blue tick. 




All your students are on this view, with the ones who have registered shown at the top. If you need to reserve a spot for someone (say, if they paid you in cash already or just told you they are coming), simply find the student and 'tick them'. You can search for a particular student by name (using the magnifying glass), filter your students by using tags (click the tag icon), and even add a completely new student (click the "New" button). 

Next to each student, you'll see whether they have any credits on a pass, or if they have a membership that applies to this class. You can also see if they paid already (if you have payments enabled via Stripe).

If you need to take a student off the class registration list, this is also where to do it. Simply find the registered student and 'untick' them. 

When your students register with a pass, a credit is deducted from their pass automatically (this happens upon registration, not attendance). 
If they cancel in advance, or when you un-register them yourself, the credit is automatically added back to their pass. So you don't have to manually go and update people's passes. In case of a no-show (student registered but didn't attend), a credit is not credited back automatically. It's entirely up to you, depending on your policy, to give them their credit back or not. 

15 minutes before class starts, you will no longer be able to access the registration view. From this time on, you're dealing with attendance.

If you need to message all students who registered for a specific class you can do so by clicking the email button at the top of the registration list. 

Don’t send out your Zoom links in separate emails to students!
Here’s why: 
1) Security: Ubindi never exposes your actual zoom link when students register. Instead, they get an email with a “magic button” that checks a few things before taking them straight into class.
2) Attendance tracking: when students click the “magic button” to join class, Ubindi takes attendance automatically. But if they come in using a link you shared yourself, they’ll be recorded as ‘no-shows’.
3) Avoid confusion: if you mistakenly send a different link than the one you’ve set on Ubindi, your students won’t be able to get into class!
4) Keeping it simple: when your clients sign up for class on Ubindi, they get a confirmation email, and a reminder 15 minutes before class. Why send them with an extra email and make extra work for yourself?

Attendance (green ticks)

On your class dashboard —  15 minutes before class starts, or anytime after that, even long after class is over — the ticket icon for registration changes into a big green 'take attendance' button. 


Clicking on it will again pull up a list of your students. For online classes, attendance will have been taken automatically by Ubindi, but you can edit this of course. For in-person classes, you can record who's there by ticking boxes next to student names. This works great on a phone, so you don't need to have a big computer with you of course!

Your students can even mark themselves as 'present' if they are logged into Ubindi on a device. In some situations, if your students all have mobile phones and you want to rely on them to help you with admin, it might save you time to simply ask everyone to take their own attendance when they show up for class!

While students can mark themselves as having attended a class (by clicking a "Did it" button on your classes in their personal view, they cannot un-mark themselves (to prevent cheating or other shenanigans). Only the teacher can un-mark someone who's been marked as attended.

Registration and attendance are 2 completely separate records in the Ubindi system, so students who registered for class are not automatically marked as attended.  However at the top of the attendance view, you'll see the students who registered at the top (their box is highlighted in light green). After them, all your other students are shown alphabetically.

Next to each student, you'll see whether they have any credits on a pass, or if they have a membership that applies to this class. You can also see if they paid already (if you have payments enabled via Stripe).

If they have credits on a pass, ticking a student who did not pre-register as 'present' will decrement their pass credits. If the student registered for class in advance, marking them as attended will not deduct a credit (since they used a credit already when registering).

Again, if you have a lot of students, use the search to quickly find a student to add to the attendance list, and you can also use tags to show only the students you previously tagged with, for example, "Thursday".

Just as for the registrations view, if you see a new face in class you can add them to your students list and mark them as attended right there and then (click the 'New' button).



Once you've taken attendance and clicked 'Done' you can always go back and change the attendance. The big take attendance banner will no longer be there but instead you'll a small attendance icon (with the number of students who attended). Click that icon to open the attendance list again, and edit as needed. 






    • Related Articles

    • Emailing students who registered for a class

      You can email students registered for a specific class before class starts or after the class is already over. This is useful if you need to cancel class, or if you want to send some materials to all the people who registered for class (like a class ...
    • Using Ubindi for online classes

      Ubindi works especially well for online classes (whether on Zoom or pretty much any other video meeting software you already use). To create an online class, instead of setting a physical address, you simply use a meeting link.  How to create an ...
    • Do my students have to sign up?

      When you add your students to your list, they're not required or invited to sign up to Ubindi. Your students can see your class schedule on your Ubindi page. You can send your students messages through Ubindi and, since these go directly to their ...
    • Passes and credits

      A pass (often called "punch card") is a bundle of credits that students can buy to access your classes or videos. On Ubindi 1 credit = 1 class or 1 video. A subscription or membership gives your students access to a certain number of classes and is ...
    • Editing, cancelling and deleting classes

      To change something about classes you have on your schedule, go to your schedule dashboard and simply click or tap the 3 little dots at the top right of any of your classes: When you make changes to a class, it's up to you to let your students know — ...